1987-88 Hockey Windows Season

$30.00In Stock
  • Oilers sweep Bruins for Cup in Gretzky’s final Edmonton season
  • Lemieux leads eight 50-goal scorers with 70, leads NHL with 168 points
  • Calgary sets pace with 105 points; Flames ROY Nieuwendyk scores 51
Full Summary

Wayne Gretzky scored 62 goals, led the NHL with 109 assists, won the Conn Smythe Trophy when his Edmonton Oilers swept Boston to win the Stanley Cup for the fourth time in five seasons, then was traded after this year and never won another Cup over his final 11 seasons.

Neither Boston, led by Ray Bourque and 42-goal scorer Cam Neely, won their divisions, but needed only five games each in the playoffs to oust their division winners.

Calgary, which led the NHL with 105 points and 398 goals, got 51 goals and 92 points from Calder Trophy winner Joe Nieuwendyk, 50 goals and 102 points from RW Hakan Loob and 48 goals and 103 points from center Mike Bullard.

Los Angeles also had twin 50-goal men with Jimmy Carson (55) and Luc Robitaille (53), but was no match for Calgary in the first round of the playoffs.

In the East, Montreal’s 103 points topped Boston. Goalie Patrick Roy, defenseman Chris Chelios and 50-goal scorer Stephane Richer led the Habs.

Mario Lemieux’s 70 goals and 168 points were good enough to lead the league and earn him the Hart Trophy, but his Pittsburgh Penguins were a last-place team in the Patrick Division.

Powered by official averages and stats with exclusive Strat-O ratings;

Enhanced by hundreds of hours of unique Strat-O research and statistical analysis


Requires Strat-O-Matic Hockey 2020 or later to play

This Product is now available via E-Delivery. After purchase is completed, your product registration code can be found on your account page under License Keys as well as on your order invoice in your account page.

If you need technical assistance regarding E-Delivery products please contact techsupport@strat-o-matic.com. Please read the information for E-Delivery products carefully before purchasing as these items are non-refundable.